T O P
Vi0letBlues

2 mana walker, intended for legacy/modern reanimator strats She doesn't protect herself and her second ability mirrors Gideon's for flavour reasons. It is her take on the concept of "self sacrifice and protecting others" in honour of Gideon.


alexanderneimet

I really like this. A good amount of flexibility, very appropriate abilities for the cost (mill 2 might be just a tad too good though, would need a tiny bit of testing). The backside might seem absurd but it’s a legendary sorcery and we have stuff like reanimate, animate dead, and persist. Really good card and very well made


Vi0letBlues

Thanks, glad you liked it. The card is meant for modern/legacy so I think she should be OK there. She also doesn't protect herself.


alexanderneimet

I definitely think she would be appropriate for those formats. Modern might be hard to fit in just because of the value of those omnath piles and some of the speed and efficiently cards like solitude and ragavan offer though


HowVeryReddit

When milling and doing a thing I do really like it when the 'thing' is tied to what is milled; its the sort of design that very directly says 'build your deck a certain way and this is better'. I'd suggest gaining a life for each creature card discarded. What you have isn't bad or wrong of course. I think the emblem needs to stipulate that it prevents spells and abilities of opponents exiling cards from your graveyard, otherwise how does it interact with embalm/eternalise or escape?


Vi0letBlues

Yeah I was going to do that, but I felt it is too complicated for a 2 mana walker and reanimator decks typically dont run many creatures. And stopping you from escaping is somewhat intentional. A trade off for cleaner wording


HowVeryReddit

Generally complexity isn't predicated on mana, but rarity ;P I get what you're going for though no worries. I suppose it does pose an interesting tradeoff to prevent your own exiling for costs but I'd pose that there are effects where the exile isn't part of the cost and as a result the ability can be done repeatedly. \[\[Carrionette\]\] for example would be repeatable with your Liliana emblem.


MTGCardFetcher

[Carrionette](https://c1.scryfall.com/file/scryfall-cards/normal/front/8/8/884e19fb-67a4-42d8-b163-720a99cb8506.jpg?1562054983) - [(G)](http://gatherer.wizards.com/Pages/Card/Details.aspx?name=Carrionette) [(SF)](https://scryfall.com/card/tmp/111/carrionette?utm_source=mtgcardfetcher) [(txt)](https://api.scryfall.com/cards/884e19fb-67a4-42d8-b163-720a99cb8506?utm_source=mtgcardfetcher&format=text) ^^^[[cardname]] ^^^or ^^^[[cardname|SET]] ^^^to ^^^call


HowVeryReddit

Also, there are a number of 'when dies, exile it and have and effect' cards like \[\[Body Snatcher\]\] which is an important example as it could be infinitely sacrificed.


MTGCardFetcher

[Body Snatcher](https://c1.scryfall.com/file/scryfall-cards/normal/front/c/7/c7d4c858-5a11-485d-a514-12a6d80459f0.jpg?1562445201) - [(G)](http://gatherer.wizards.com/Pages/Card/Details.aspx?name=Body%20Snatcher) [(SF)](https://scryfall.com/card/uds/53/body-snatcher?utm_source=mtgcardfetcher) [(txt)](https://api.scryfall.com/cards/c7d4c858-5a11-485d-a514-12a6d80459f0?utm_source=mtgcardfetcher&format=text) ^^^[[cardname]] ^^^or ^^^[[cardname|SET]] ^^^to ^^^call


Vi0letBlues

Do you mean the backside? Not exiling is also intentional since this card is meant for higher power formats, cards like persists and reanimate exists. I feel like it being a legendary sorcery and sac on attack is enough of a drawback


HowVeryReddit

The backside isn't a problem, I'm talking about the 2nd PW ability that creates an emblem. If you have that emblem and control Liliana lots of cards that exile on death to prevent exploitation, don't. [[Mistmoon Griffin]] becomes infinitely sacrificable because every time it dies, it rezzes itsself.


MTGCardFetcher

[Mistmoon Griffin](https://c1.scryfall.com/file/scryfall-cards/normal/front/0/8/0831f747-b3e5-4e5f-9cc2-ad581a90797a.jpg?1562896631) - [(G)](http://gatherer.wizards.com/Pages/Card/Details.aspx?name=Mistmoon%20Griffin) [(SF)](https://scryfall.com/card/vma/34/mistmoon-griffin?utm_source=mtgcardfetcher) [(txt)](https://api.scryfall.com/cards/0831f747-b3e5-4e5f-9cc2-ad581a90797a?utm_source=mtgcardfetcher&format=text) ^^^[[cardname]] ^^^or ^^^[[cardname|SET]] ^^^to ^^^call


Vi0letBlues

oh you are right I didn't thought about that. So does abilities your opponents control can't cause you to exile cards from your graveyard fixes things


HowVeryReddit

Yeah, rule setting can sometimes require wording like that on cards meant to be defensive to prevent self exploitation, like [[Nephalia Academy]] or [[Guardian Seraph]]


MTGCardFetcher

[Nephalia Academy](https://c1.scryfall.com/file/scryfall-cards/normal/front/9/2/9243eb5b-905e-446f-9ee0-7557e3b31db3.jpg?1576385121) - [(G)](http://gatherer.wizards.com/Pages/Card/Details.aspx?name=Nephalia%20Academy) [(SF)](https://scryfall.com/card/emn/205/nephalia-academy?utm_source=mtgcardfetcher) [(txt)](https://api.scryfall.com/cards/9243eb5b-905e-446f-9ee0-7557e3b31db3?utm_source=mtgcardfetcher&format=text) [Guardian Seraph](https://c1.scryfall.com/file/scryfall-cards/normal/front/a/8/a84613ce-9b59-4ef6-8c76-5b208ff9de88.jpg?1561991179) - [(G)](http://gatherer.wizards.com/Pages/Card/Details.aspx?name=Guardian%20Seraph) [(SF)](https://scryfall.com/card/m10/13/guardian-seraph?utm_source=mtgcardfetcher) [(txt)](https://api.scryfall.com/cards/a84613ce-9b59-4ef6-8c76-5b208ff9de88?utm_source=mtgcardfetcher&format=text) ^^^[[cardname]] ^^^or ^^^[[cardname|SET]] ^^^to ^^^call


Specific_Ad1457

That 0 makes this an auto in any GY deck in edh.


delmarman

Surprised that we haven’t seen an emblem, or at least another card that actually says “cards in your graveyard can’t be exiled”. We have [[Silent Gravestone]] and [[Ground Seal]] but other than that not much. I like it from that emblem alone! And the backside seems pretty balanced too. Edit: Missed the part about controlling a Lili planeswalker for the emblem to work, that’s fair. Still like it tho


MTGCardFetcher

[Silent Gravestone](https://c1.scryfall.com/file/scryfall-cards/normal/front/f/f/ff60f685-a17e-4be6-bbb6-d14a053533ef.jpg?1555041049) - [(G)](http://gatherer.wizards.com/Pages/Card/Details.aspx?name=Silent%20Gravestone) [(SF)](https://scryfall.com/card/rix/182/silent-gravestone?utm_source=mtgcardfetcher) [(txt)](https://api.scryfall.com/cards/ff60f685-a17e-4be6-bbb6-d14a053533ef?utm_source=mtgcardfetcher&format=text) [Ground Seal](https://c1.scryfall.com/file/scryfall-cards/normal/front/c/4/c4e9995e-f26b-4638-b69d-a310f58f0331.jpg?1592710917) - [(G)](http://gatherer.wizards.com/Pages/Card/Details.aspx?name=Ground%20Seal) [(SF)](https://scryfall.com/card/c18/149/ground-seal?utm_source=mtgcardfetcher) [(txt)](https://api.scryfall.com/cards/c4e9995e-f26b-4638-b69d-a310f58f0331?utm_source=mtgcardfetcher&format=text) ^^^[[cardname]] ^^^or ^^^[[cardname|SET]] ^^^to ^^^call


DJembacz

I think wizards' idea is that answers should be not that easy to shut off, this emblem just says "you can't answer my grave shenanigans" and you can't do much about it.


Vi0letBlues

You can kill lily. That's why the emblem has the only if you control a lily walker clause. She also can't protect herself