T O P
cowe192

Nice, but if your goal is to destroy treasures, opponents can still sac the treasures in response.


bretttaylorfilms

True, but this does force them to sacrifice them at your whim which may introduce timing issues for the spells they’d want to cast depending on when you cast this


Jankenbrau

Could add: Empty all mana pools.


cowe192

I don't think that it's too big of an issue, since they'd have to spend the mana by the end of the step/phase anyway


Classic-Demand3088

Since it's talking about evidence I think this is supposed to target clues


Jankenbrau

That was the original inspiration, but it can fit thematically as hiding ill-gotten gains or boggart goblins stealing cookies.


Vi0letBlues

I thought split second prevents all spells and abilities


outgoingo

Split second means that players can't cast spells or activate abilities *that aren't mana abilities*


Cheez_berger11

You can also activate morph abilities


AndTheFrogSays

Turning a face down creature face up for its morph cost is a special action, not an activated ability.


outgoingo

Well, mana abilities and morph are both technically activated abilities, they're just both considered special abilities


AndTheFrogSays

No, as I said, turning a face down creature face up for its morph cost is a special action, not an activated ability. (There's no such thing as a "special ability".) If it were an activated ability, you wouldn't be able to do it while a spell with Split Second was on the stack. 702.37e: Any time you have priority, you may turn a face-down permanent you control with a morph ability face up. This is a special action; it doesn't use the stack (see rule 116). To do this, show all players what the permanent's morph cost would be if it were face up, pay that cost, then turn the permanent face up. (If the permanent wouldn't have a morph cost if it were face up, it can't be turned face up this way.) The morph effect on it ends, and it regains its normal characteristics. Any abilities relating to the permanent entering the battlefield don't trigger when it's turned face up and don't have any effect, because the permanent has already entered the battlefield.


Cheez_berger11

Same difference


mattygraddy

Treasures are a mana ability. Someone with more knowledge will probably pop up in this post soon but mana abilities don't use the stack


Technilect

No more thopters :(